Recovering with the Azure Backup Server

You can use Azure Backup Server to recover the data you’ve backed up to a Recovery Services vault. The process for doing so is integrated into the Azure Backup Server management console, and is similar to the recovery workflow for other Azure Backup components.

To recover data from an Azure Backup Server:

From the Recovery tab of the Azure Backup Server management console, click ‘Add External DPM’

Download new vault credentials from the vault associated with the Azure Backup Server where the data is being recovered, choose the Azure Backup Server from the list of Azure Backup Servers registered with the Recovery Services vault, and provide the encryption passphrase associated with the server whose data is being recovered.

Note: Only Azure Backup Servers associated with the same registration vault can recover each other’s data.


Once the External Azure Backup Server is successfully added, you can browse the data of the external server and the local Azure Backup Server from the Recovery tab.

Browse the available list of production servers protected by the external Azure Backup Server and select the appropriate data source.

    

Select the month and year from the Recovery points drop down, select the required Recovery date for when the recovery point was created, and select the Recovery time.

A list of files and folders appears in the bottom pane, which can be browsed and recovered to any location.


Right click the appropriate item and click Recover.


Review the Recover Selection. Verify the data and time of the backup copy being recovered, as well as the source from which the backup copy was created. If the selection is incorrect, click Cancel to navigate back to recovery tab to select appropriate recovery point. If the selection is correct, click Next.


Select Recover to the Original location. Next to the correct location for the recovery.


Choose the option related to create copy, Skip, or Overwrite.

  • Create copy – creates a copy of the file if there is a name collision.
  • Skip – if there is a name collision, does not recover the file which leaves the original file.
  • Overwrite – if there is a name collision, overwrites the existing copy of the file.

Choose the appropriate option to Restore security. You can apply the security settings of the destination computer where the data is being recovered or the security settings that were applicable to product at the time the recovery point was created.

Identify whether a Notification is sent, once the recovery successfully completes.


The Summary screen lists the options chosen so far. Once you click ‘Recover’, the data is recovered to the appropriate on-premises location.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s