Using Locks for Resource Groups

Resource Groups Locks prevent accidental deletion or changes to resources in Azure.


As an administrator, you may need to lock a subscription, resource group, or resource to prevent other users in your organization from accidentally deleting or modifying critical resources.

You can set the lock level to CanNotDelete or ReadOnly. In the portal, the locks are called Delete and Read-only respectively.

  • CanNotDelete means authorized users can still read and modify a resource, but they can’t delete the resource.

  • ReadOnly means authorized users can read a resource, but they can’t delete or update the resource. Applying this lock is similar to restricting all authorized users to the permissions granted by the Reader role.

This blog post shows how to Lock resources to prevent unexpected changes resource in Azure

Create resource group

Sign in to the Azure portal at https://portal.azure.com with your Azure account.

On the left pane of the dashboard, click Resource Groups

Double-Click on the resource group

In the Settings blade for the resource group, select Locks.

To add a lock, select Add.

Give the lock a name and lock level. Optionally, you can add notes that describe the lock and Click

The Lock is successfully created

To delete the lock, select the ellipsis and Delete from the available options.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s